See & Do

Gugoseowon Confucian Academy (구고서원)(서원)
· Area : Yeongju · date of final modification : 2016-02-15
구고서원1.jpg 구고서원1.jpg
구고서원3.jpg 구고서원3.jpg
구고서원4.jpg 구고서원4.jpg
이미지 섬네일 이전 이미지 섬네일 다음
컨텐츠 내용입니다.
Address Sacheon-ri, Dansan-myeon, Yeongju-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
Inquaries 054-634-3100
Parking lot

Gugoseowon Confucian Academy was founded to honor the scholarship and virtues of Han-jeong Seo in 1780 (4th year of King Jeongjo’s reign) at the proposal of local scholars. It was used to perform memorial rites for ancestors and contributed to promoting local education. It was demolished in 1870 (7th year of King Gojong’s reign) when the Regent Daewongun ordered removal of private academies. In 1974, Sangjeolsa Temple and a seowon (Confucian academy) were built again on the current site. Gugo Seowon had been initially built under Doinbong peak in neighboring village of Gugu-ri, yet it deteriorated after the demolition and only remaining buildings were moved to the temple site with the head family’s residence.

trackback : copy url